Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Scientific Research Exhibits

MOA Scientific Research Exhibit Competition

The Michigan Osteopathic Association hosts a Scientific Research Exhibit (SRE) twice yearly. These competitions provide osteopathic medical students, residents, fellows and attending level physicians an opportunity to present their medical and scientific research to our profession. The SRE event demonstrates the very best of what osteopathic medicine is and reaffirms the profession’s commitment to the advancement of science in osteopathic medicine.

MOA Autumn SRE competition
November 4, 2017 at the Amway Grand Plaza, Grand Rapids 

Rules & Regulations

Sponsorship Opportunities

Call for Judges

MOA Annual Scientific Research Exhibition Prize Awards (subject to annual revision)
At the SRE subcommittee discretion, monetary prize awards may be reallocated based on the number of submissions in a given category. The final distribution will be published promptly after the submission deadline after the SRE completes review. acceptance and categorization of abstracts.   

Poster Awards                                                    First place
Second place
Third place  

If sufficient number of submissions for each of the four categories: $750 for outstanding poster in each category.

If insufficient number of submissions received for a category, prize money reallocated to other categories at the SRE Subcommittee discretion.

Best DO-PhD Report: $500                               Outstanding Case Report: $250

Special Recognition & Award: At the discretion of the spring Scientific Research Judging Panel, the Andrew Taylor Still (ANDY) Achievement Award may be presented to one outstanding Scientific Research Exhibit poster submitted to the competition at the MOA Annual Scientific Convention reflecting the best of osteopathic medicine principles and practice. There shall be no requirement to award an ANDY Award each year. The recipient of the ANDY is awarded a $1,500 prize plus a carved crystal piece.

Oral Presentation Awards
Case Report: $500
Research or Quality/Patient Safety: $500

(powerpoint required, AV equipment and set up provided by MOA)

Submission Categories

  • Basic Science Research Abstract Format NEW!
  • Clinical Vignette (Case Report) Abstract Format
  • Clinical Medicine (Research Study) Abstract Format
  • Quality Improvement/ Patient Safety High Value Care Abstract Format NEW!

Full category descriptions here. 



2017 Scientific Research Exhibits at the
MOA 118th Annual Spring Scientific Convention

Oral Case Presentation
An Unusual Acute Ischemic Stroke in a Young Adult Male Presenting as Headache and Cerebellar Deficits
Prashant Patel; Chris Jacob, DO; Carleigh Zahn, DO, Brian Hays, DO; Western Michigan University Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine

Oral Research Presentation
High throughput Screen for Molecular Activators of Smooth Muscle 22 (SM22) Gene Expression (poster 73)
Meghan Piccinin, College of Osteopathic Medicine, Michigan State University-Detroit Medical Center; Danielle, Garshott, Carman and Ann Adams Department of Pediatrics, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Priyanka, Annam, Center for Molecular Medicine and Genetics, Department of Internal Medicine, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Maozhou, Yang, Henry Ford Hospital, Bone and Joint Center, Yue, Xi, Carman and Ann Adams Department of Pediatrics, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Amy, Bownell, Carman and Ann Adams Department of Pediatrics, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Xiaohua, Dai, Center for Molecular Medicine and Genetics, Department of Internal Medicine, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Li, Li, Center for Molecular Medicine and Genetics, Department of Internal Medicine, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Andrew, Fribley, Carman and Ann Adams Department of Pediatrics, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Molecular Therapeutics Program, Karmanos Cancer Institute, Wayne State University School of Medicine

Best Case Presentation
Acquired Hemophilia: An Uncommon Case of Factor VIII Antibodies
Jason Betcher, Marc Feldman, MD, Sinai-Grace Hospital - Internal Medicine Department;1. Authority Health Internal Medicine Residency Program, Detroit, MI 2. Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine, East Lansing, MI

Basic Science Research (PhD-DO)
The Probiotic Bacterium Lactobacillus reuteri Suppresses Osteoclastogenesis via GPR120 as a Potential Mechanism to Improve Bone Health
Darin Quach, DO, Michigan University (DO/PhD program) Department of Microbiology and Molecular
Genetics College of Osteopathic Medicine

2016 Scientific Research Exhibits at the 
MOA 12th Annual Autumn Scientific Convention

Amway Grand Plaza, Grand Rapids

November 5, 2016

Case Reports:

First Place                                                                                           A Case of DKA with Pneumonia and Recent Initiation of a SGLT2 Inhibitor                                                                                                  Ryan Kahl, DO; Mouhamed Shatila, DO, St. John Macomb-Oakland Hospital

Second Place                                                                                      Delayed Complication of a Retrievable Inferior Vena Cava Filter                                                                                                               Kruti Patel, DO; Matthew Tong, DO-Doctors Hospital, Columbus, OH; Gary Ansel, MD; Jayanta Mukherjee, MD-Riverside Hospital, Columbus, OH

Third Place       
A Twist of Fate-Pulmonary Hypertension and Heart Failure Secondary to Congenitally Corrected Transposition of the Great Arteries (CCTGA) With Dextrocardia                       
                                                         Owen Culpepper, DO; Sarah Woiderski, DO; Stefani Gibson, DO; Michael Jerger, DO; Diana Carlson, DO; Mary O'Connor, DO-Huron Valley-Sinai Hospital

Research: Grant Proposal

First                                                                                                          An Innovative Approach to Improving Water Quality Along the Amazon River Using Biosand Filters Taylor Dickey, OMS II; Katelyn Phelps, DO; Lorenzo Lim, DO/ Gary Willyerd, DO; Joseph Gorz, DO; Ruben Kenny Briceno, MD; Raef Fadel, OMS III; Shane Sergent, DO-Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Judges Lawrence Abramson, DO, MPH; James Clinton, DO, FACP; John Bodell, DO, FACOS; Lawrence Prokop, DO; Anthony Ognjan, FACP



Andrew Taylor Still (ANDY) Achievement Award 

The Andrew Taylor Still (ANDY) Achievement Award may be presented to an outstanding exhibit during the MOA Spring Convention only. The ANDY Award, which includes an exquisitely carved crystal piece and a $1,500 cash prize, is not awarded every year. Only those who best reflect the principles of osteopathic medicine with their research or case exhibit will receive the award during the MOA Spring Convention.
ANDY Award Winners:
2013: Shane R. Sergent, D.O., Lorenzo Lim, Travis Gordon, Katelyn Wiseman, Becky Bajoka, John Hawkins, Kenny Briceno, Hailey Wouters, Joe Simon, Lucan Chatterley, Sophia Johnson, Nathan Lowe, Laura Favazza, Afshan Khan, Alvin Vargas, Andrew Schrotenboe, Felipe Cameroamortegui, Pam Castro, Alec Ludwig, Shaina Park, Brent Keaner, Bradley Davis, and Tarana Nekzad.
2007: Scott Fannin, D.O. 
2006: Heather Lake, D.O., Rob Wall, D.O., Loai Marouf, D.O. and Chris Buatti 
1999: Lisa Vredevoogd, D.O., Mark Notman, PhD, Martin Hogan, PhD and William Johnston, D.O. 
1997: Rick Hallgren, PhD 
1995: Edward Loniewski, D.O., Joseph Williams, D.O., Anthony Bahu, D.O. and Rob Schafina, D.O. 
1993: Frank A. Paul, D.O.



Sign In
Sign In securely